Uncategorized

Interesting Reads of 2016

I’ve read 153 books last year and my list can be found in Goodreads. I’ve always enjoyed reading and love every single book in my shelves(or in any bookstore and library). But there are always books which seem more enjoyable than the others. Books that really touched me in a little higher level.

So I made this list. Ten (10) books which in their own way touched me as a human being, a woman, a reader and especially a writer.

NOTE: These books aren’t really published last year, instead they are books I’ve just enjoyed reading. And they are not in order.

  1.  The Picture of Dorian Gray BY: Oscar Wilde

I wasn’t really into Classics. Good I’ve read this one because it introduced me to the said genre and made me realized what I’ve been missing this whole time for not reading Classics.

2. The Bell Jar BY: Sylvia Plath

Sylvia Plath is one of my fave poets and I was hesitant to read this novel. But I was (still am) suffering from Depression and I begun reading novels which tackles depression and other Psychological matters. And I can say that out of all those books this one is the best.

3. Rebecca BY: Daphne du Maurier

Another Classic that I’ve read after reading THE PICTURE OF DORIAN GRAY. But this isn’t just your usual classic because it has a pinch of Gothicism in it.

    4. Big Rock BY: Lauren Blakely

I love Braden, the hero, because he portrays my ideal guy. That’s all I can say.

     5. The Rosie Project BY: Graeme Simsion

Simply Hilarious….Plus I love Nerds.

     6. The Red Pyramid BY: Rick Riordan

I’m not really a fan of Mythology but Riordan made me loved it. He wrote this one and all his other books beautifully and easy to read.

     7. A Place Called Here BY: Cecelia Ahern

Like I said I suffer depression, and I kind of always feeling down and lost. This book has many insights, quotes that helped me to at least loosen a bit.

     8. Ugly Love BY: Colleen Hoover

Hello? It’s Colleen Hoover. Of course her books are great. LOL! But this one just break me, ruin me in an interesting way. Great plot plus great writer equals greatness. (Of COurse)

      9. Appealed(The Legal Briefs #3) BY: Emma Chase

I could’ve included the other books in the series plus the Tangled Series but this one is enough I guess. Chase just writes wonderfully and she has this way of creating interesting characters. Especially the guys.

      10. Apricot Kisses BY: Claudia Winter

This one slapped me hard in my face. I didn’t want to read this. Thought it’s just another boring and cliché romance yet it proved me wrong. This one is sweet and an easy read. Plus the ending was just too cute.

So there you have it people. My top ten reads. If you want to read my reviews of these books and of many others, check My Goodreads Account.

Thank You and Happy new Year..

Lils.

 

Leave a Reply

