Try Again

TRYING is TIRING. Even the phrase ‘Try and try until you succeed’  becomes tiring too. Why? Because it’s getting old. Truth be told, I wouldn’t have made this post if not with Pastor Jentezen Franklin whose preaching Launch into the deep inspired me a lot.

Simon answered, “Master, we’ve worked hard all night and haven’t caught anything. But because you say so, I will let down the nets.”

Luke 5:5

I’ll give you a short version of that particular biblical story. Simon(Peter) was a fisherman and apparently he, along with his companions, had been fishing all night but didn’t catch a single fish. Jesus, all of a sudden, approached them and told them to launch their net again in the water. And we already know what happens next..

Peter launched the net again and miraculously, when they pulled the net up again, it was overflowing with fishes.

What did they do? They tried again.

What if every time we stop trying, we’re actually just one try away to victory? What if the last try we should’ve taken was already ‘it’? That would be depressing to even think, right?

But trying, sometimes, is even more depressing. So like I said, I watched Franklin’s preaching and was motivated to TRY AGAIN. As a writer, I have plenty of WIPS. I have at least a hundred unfinished novels in my laptop’s hard drive just waiting for my attention. But why did I even stop in the middle of the story? It’s because I found a problem in the novel. Most of the times, I just lose my enthusiasm in the story/plot. The story became senseless.

Here’s the sad truth: If we don’t find any sense in whatever we do, it becomes tiring. I’m not talking just about writing. This is true in every thing in our lives.

But then, why did I even start those stories, in the first place? Because I once thought they’ll work. And I thought they were good stories. I thought, the publishers will like them. And as I revisit my old WIPS, I began rethinking of those reasons.

Guess what, I begun feeling those emotions I had for those WIPS again. So before I knew it, I was already typing word after word in one of my novels. And before I realised what I’m doing, I was already finishing a novella. And that novella is now in its way to the publisher. And I’ll probably be biased, but it’s a good one. And it will be published. *Fingers crossed*

What did I do? I tried again. So it turned out, I didn’t stop, I just took a rest from it. And for me, every time we get weary or disappointed in what we do, because it seems it’s not working out and looks like what we aim will never happen, we should not stop trying again. Instead, we should just pause, take a rest, and then try again.

We will be surprised on how things will turn out.

Someone(Jesus) told Simon to try again. And maybe, not everyone believes that Jesus is real. And it’s okay. Just pretend that it’s me who told you to try again. Someone told you to try again so why not, right?

I know, who am I to tell you what to do? But I want to thank you for reading this.

God Bless You All.

🙂 🙂 🙂

Lili here!!!!

10 thoughts on “Try Again

  1. Yes, it’s true. There is point of doing hard work in the wrong direction. Trying becomes tiring when we put effort on unknown path. But when you put effort on the right path, you will definitely see the results. May be not immediately but definitely. So, we need to understand our motives so that we can drive ourselves.
    Stay fit. Peace.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

