Spilled Coffee

What do we do when we spilled our coffee?

I know, it should be spilled milk. But I don’t drink milk so I’m just gonna go with coffee since it has been my companion since I was a little kid. And I am too familiar with coffee stain and it has, somehow, got to do with what I’m going to share.

Spilled coffee and stains. (Haven’t heard of milk stain anyway.)

We all make mistakes, don’t we? We’ve been done wrong by others, haven’t we? But whether it’s our fault or not isn’t the issue I’m going to stress here. Intentional or not, who cares? Instead, let me ask you what you do when you make mistakes?

I often hear that we can identify one’s maturity through his/her decisions. I’m sorry but I disagree. Our maturity shows not on the decisions we make but on how we deal with the consequences of our decisions.

Once, I spilled my coffee in a book I was reading. Worse, it was a John Grisham novel. If you know me, you’d know, I love books more than any non-living thing in this world, and that I love John Grisham because the first novel I’ve ever read (when I was barely eight) was written by him.  So needless to say, that book I was reading is a treasure for me.

And I spilled coffee on it.

I freaked out. I screamed ‘Sh*t’ countless times while my mind tries to process what to do with it. But I just stood there, staring at my book, freaking out and had no idea what to do next. Then my mother came into my room, uttered an ‘oh my god’ and then left. But after a minute or so, she came with two pieces of cloths(maybe they were rags or something). One was wet. The other was dry.

Before I knew it she was already patting the wet page with the dry towel, sapping the excess coffee. Next thing she did was using the wet(slightly wet) cloth, as if to wipe the coffee stain away. She was very careful as she did that part since she knows how I treasure my books. Then she took the book in front of the fan and let it dry. I, then, stopped freaking out.

Good news is the book survived. Bad news is the coffee stain remains until now. I still have the book but I already bought a new copy because I want my books clean. Anyway, what’s with my story?

I was entirely immature. Though it wasn’t my decision that my coffee spilled, the coffee was my choice. If it was milk, I could’ve just dried it off and there would be no stains. Another thing was, I freaked out instead of dealing with it right away. What if I did what my mother did as soon as the coffee spilled. Maybe there would be no stains, or it would be paler. Maybe only few pages would’ve get stained.

Foolish me.

Most of the times, in life, we act like that. We freaked out, sometimes we get overwhelmed with what happened instead of dealing with it right away. We waste time. And time when wasted is forever wasted. And while stalling, wasting time, little do we realise, we’re letting the used-to-be little consequences grew bigger. And thus, they are harder to deal with.

We are all going to make mistakes, wrong decisions, from time to time, we can’t stop people from doing wrong to us and we can never avoid those seemingly unfortunate circumstances that came into our life. But we can always choose to do the right thing once these things happen to us. We can never make things back to what they originally were, but we can lessen the damage.

Mistakes happen so we can learn. When we make mistakes, we don’t have to be hard on ourselves. Let’s think of it as an opportunity for us to be teachers. Only, the students are ourselves. Isn’t that great?

When others do us wrong, forgive. I won’t say forget, because come on, it’s one hard thing to do. And we don’t have to forget the wrong things done, since they are usually the ones that teach valuable lessons. We just have to let go of hatred and all other emotions that go with it. But we don’t forget what happened, it can be our references in time.

One more thing, instead of uttering useless craps (like what I did), why don’t we start using our voices asking for help? We can always find someone who can help us. We are never alone. If you believe otherwise, then you’re mistaken. I’m sorry, but that’s just the truth.

Our mistakes will leave us stains, and sometimes it would be a painful reminder of our foolishness. But if it can remind us how foolish we were, it can motivate us to do better now. To be smarter!!!

DRINKING COFFEE and trying not to spill it,

Lili

7 thoughts on “Spilled Coffee

  1. Yes, it’s true. It happens with everyone. If you are not making mistakes, you are out of the game. Because the game is all about the mistakes. The game of life. I really enjoyed it as it imparts truth. Thanks for writing. And do drink milk. It’s good for health. Just said.
    Stay positive. Peace.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Drexpogi says:

    Another fantastic work from you ate acel.. ooppss.. sorry.. ate lilicel rather.. As i read each and every word of this wonderful piece of literature, i am wondering, is it really you who made it? I was imagining you writing this wearing your red dress.. xD, kidding aside, as i go thru each sentences, i was amazed.. My interest of reading your other works increases as well.. ugh! One more, i love this “we can always choose to dp the right thing!”

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

