Future, God, Inspiration, motivation

Our Favorite Scars

Turn your scars into stars.—–Robert H. Schuller


We’ve all been wounded. In fact, every day, we get wounds. And a big wound or not, deep or not, eventually it will become a scar.

Personally, I hate scars. I guess, most women do. But earlier, my right knee caught my eyes and made me smile. Why? My right knee has been scarred for almost sixteen years now. Yes, I just said I hate scars so why smile while staring at it?

I smile at the memory it added into the chest of happy memories I own.

Big or small, every scar has a memory.

And most of the times, those memories were the most painful ones. Of course, you got wounded, it was painful. And a scar just adds frustration to our dismay. Well, scars are all physically ugly so I guess fretting about them is pretty reasonable. But what we often fail to recognise about a scar is that it means we’re HEALED. It’s amazing how we can smile or laugh at something that once had caused us pain, sometimes even made us cry.

Well, that’s one odd thing about scars. They remind us of a painful past so we can have something to smile at.

My scarred knee reminds me of once a perfect family I had. Not that I don’t have one now. It’s just that I seldom see them these days. I’m already 24 and staying with my family is a bit, well, you know, everyone has to act mature at some point.

I was eight then, and we had this little vacation at my grandfather’s farm. That was one of my happiest childhood memory. A goat, the oldest one I’ve ever seen my whole life, chased me and I tripped. Regardless of the pain it caused me, still it became one of my favorite scars. It reminds me of my childhood and my family and how things were easier when I was younger.

Reminiscing about that wound of mine made me think about Jesus, the ever loving wounded Jesus. Who was beaten and crucified. He got scars too, maybe even more than we can ever imagine or know. But I guess, those scars, those countless scars are also treasured by Jesus Himself. Simply because, YOU are the reason of those scars. YOU, ME, THEM-we are the reasons of His scars.

He offered His body to be scarred yet undoubtedly, never regret what he did, nor resent us. But the thing is we didn’t stop giving him wounds that day, two thousand years ago, at the calvary. Everyday, we still give Jesus new wounds yet we’re not even aware of it most of the time.

But He loves us so much and I can only imagine Jesus smiling every time He looks at his scars He acquired for us, or because of us. Especially those particular scars on his palms and feet. I guess, if I have my own favorite scar, Jesus has his own too. And those are the ones that he got from those three nails.

He was wounded, beaten, pained-physically and emotionally- and He even died. But see, after three days of sorrows and pain, He got up, raised from the dead and with no wounds. What left to Him were scars, and those scars made Him VICTORIOUS.

Those scars, because of those scars, the fall of the enemy began. And we share the victory with Jesus there.

See? Not every scar is ugly. Most of them can be turned into STARS that may guide us through the darkness we’re in or even to the darkness ahead of us, especially the scars we have in our hearts.

Scars mean we WON. We SURVIVED. We LEARNED. We are HEALED. We are BETTER.

GOD BLESS YOU, whoever you are who’s life has been scarred. GOD LOVES YOU and your unbelief won’t and can’t even change that!!

 

Scarred,

Lili

Leave a Reply

